2019 Award Recipients

To honor the memory of Maria M. Duran, MD, former Secretary-General and Executive Vice-President of the International Society of Dermatology, the Maria M. Duran Committee wishes to recognize leaders in international dermatology and those who have made significant contributions to dermatologic conditions affecting women and children.

2019 Maria Duran Lectureship

Dr. Marcia Ramos-e-Silva, MD, PhD, Brazil, ISD Executive Vice President

Dr. Marcia Ramos-e-Silva is the Head of the Sector of Dermatology at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. In 2005, she was the recipient of the Maria Duran Medal.

Pictured here is Dr. Ramos-e-Silva giving a presentation on Tropical Dermatology in Women at the ISD Session at the 24th World Congress of Dermatology in Milan, Italy in 2019.

She has been a member of ISD since 1992. 


2019 Maria Duran Fellowship

Dr. Sweta Subhadarshani, MD India

Dr. Subhadarshani (right-center) receives her award from Dr. Jacek Szepietowksi, ISD Education Committee Chair (left), Dr. Nellie Konnikov, ISD Secretary General (left-center), and Dr. Mercedes Florez-White, Maria Duran Committee Chair (right). 

The Fellowship included a travel grant of $1,000 and waiver of registration fees to support her presentation "Efficacy and Safety of a Novel Method of Insulated Intralesional Radiofrequency Ablation for Deep Dermal and Subcutaneous Lesions: A 3-Year Institutional Experience” at the 24th World Congress of Dermatology. 


2019 Maria Duran Medalist

Dr. Hemangi Jerajani, MD India

The 2019 Maria Duran Medal was awarded to Dr. Hema Jerajani, professor and Head of Dermatology at MGM Medical College and Hospital, and past President of IADVL. 

Dr. Jerajani (center) receives her award from Dr. Mercedes Florez-White, Maria Duran Committee Chair (left), and Dr. Nellie Konnikov, ISD Secretary General (right), at the WCD in Milan, Italy, in recognition of her lifetime commitment to promoting the advancement of women in dermatology. 



Contact Us

+32 (0)2 227 27 42

Connect With Us

2023 International Society of Dermatology. All Rights Reserved.