2016 Award Recipients

2016 Maria Duran Award Recipients

To honor the memory of Maria M. Duran, MD, former Secretary-General and Executive Vice-President of the International Society of Dermatology, the Maria M. Duran Committee wishes to recognize leaders in international dermatology and those who have made significant contributions to dermatologic conditions affecting women and children.

2016 Maria Duran Lectureship


 Dr. Brigitte Dreno, France

 Dr. Dreno's lecture was part of the opening ceremonies and she received her award, presented by Dr. Mercedes Florez-White, at that time. Dr. Dreno is from the University Hospital of Nantes (France) where she is an Exceptional Class Professor and Vice Dean of Research. 



2016 Maria Duran Fellowship


Dr. Mihaela Georgescu, Romania

"Behcet Disease with Sweet-like Lesions"

Dr. Georescu was awarded for her poster and oral presentation. She appreciated the quality of the scientific program and noted that while the speakers were from all over the world, the majority were from the Middle East, and it provided her the opportunity to learn about skin diseases that are rare in her country.

Dr. Divya Gupta, India

  "Experience with Rituximab in Refractory Pemphigus and in Pemphigus with Comorbidities: A case Series of 10"

 The Fellowship included a travel grant of $1,000 and waiver of registration fees to support their presentations at the XIV International Congress of Dermatology.





2016 Maria Duran Medalist

 Dr. Tania Cestari, Brazil

 In recognition of her lifetime commitment to promoting the advancement of women in dermatology, Dr. Tania Cestari was recognized with the Maria Duran Medal at the XIV International Congress of Dermatology in Washington D.C. 



image widget