2012 Award Recipients

To honor the memory of Maria M. Duran, MD, former Secretary-General and Executive Vice-President of the International Society of Dermatology, the Maria M. Duran Committee wishes to recognize leaders in international dermatology and those who have made significant contributions to dermatologic conditions affecting women and children.

2012 Maria Duran Lectureship

Dr. Rekka Sheth, India

Dr. Rekha Sheth presented, “The Enigma of Facial Melanoses in Skin of Colour” during the Maria Duran Symposium held during the 3rd CCD in Durban, South Africa.

Dr. Sheth is a leader in cosmetic dermatology and is the founder of the Cosmetic Dermatology Society of India. She has been active in the ISD as a mentor and committee member and co-sponsor of ISD meetings.


2012 Maria Duran Fellowship

Dr. Mariecon O. Escuardo, Philippines

Dr. Escuadro’s presentation, “A Randomized Assessor-Blinded Controlled Trial on the Efficacy and Safety of Virgin Coconut Oil Versus Mineral Oil as a Therapeutic Moisturizer for Senile Xerosis” was selected from over 20 applications. The Fellowship included a travel grant of $2,000 and waiver of registration fees for the meeting.




2012 Maria Duran Medalist

Dr. Bernice Krafchik, Canada

Dr. Krafchik is the Emeritus Chair of Pediatric Dermatology at the University of Toronto, Canada, and was presented with the medal during the American Academy of Dermatology meeting in San Diego, California.






Contact Us

+32 (0)2 227 27 42

Connect With Us

2024 International Society of Dermatology. All Rights Reserved.